I’m Going To Be A Mommy!

20110212_2Yep, that is pretty much me right now!  I’m pretty excited!  I’m going to be a new mommy!

Last night, we candled the eggs.  Can you believe what I saw?  It’s amazing and certainly one of God’s miracles.

We held up the first egg, one of our own duck eggs, put it on top of the flashlight and covered the light.  I slowly searched for the spreading lines through out the egg that is the lifeline of the ducklings inside.  I saw the forking blood veins and got very excited!  I showed Hubby, “Look!  Those veins are what we’re looking for!  There’s a duckling developing!”

Then we saw it…

A small black dot.  In some invisible yet visible way, connected to another black dot.  One black dot kept moving, swishing around like something pulsing inside.  The heart?  I think so but not sure yet.  I still am going to check that out.

So we held up the other egg to the light.  This is the wild mallard egg.  The veins running through took a second longer to find, but find them we did!  Then we saw the little pulsating life inside that egg also.

I felt like I was just informed that I was having babies….Twins!

Now the fun part for the next 3 weeks is watching it develop in the egg.  I’ll be checking every couple of nights because the growth and change will be quite rapid now.

This photo here will give you an idea of what we saw on day 8.  05-10PASSinglestage3Even better!  Here is one that shows day 8!  wr_duckeggchartMaybe tonight we’ll try to take our own photos and I can get them posted!

springtimedanielleleigh

Leave a Reply

