A Lesson in Christmas Trees and Lights

As part of my Advent devotions that I am doing, I was reading about light and the way that light is compared to Jesus.  Part of the exploration was to find out the history of Christmas lights.

I found out that most believe that Martin Luther was the first to use lights on his tree. He did this to show his children how the stars shined in the night.  His lights were candles.  Candles used to be attached to a tree by melting wax to hold it on or using a pin to attach the candle.  Thomas Edison had an assistant that used electric lights for the first time on a rotating tree.  danielleleighNow you may ask, why did they use the Christmas trees in the first place?  Good question.

Here is what I found out.  Early Christians, thought of the fir tree as the symbol of the Holy Trinity of God.  The three points of the outline of the shape was thought to point to the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost.  Fir trees apparently were highly sought after and very valued by Christians because of the symbolism.

Ornaments first came about from using fruits and nuts to decorate the tress.  I believe that I saw that somewhere they used apple trees, so then after that they decorated the trees with red balls to symbolize the apple.  I don’t know if any of that is true or not, I didn’t really research it.

Some of these practices stem from a pagan origin, I believe.  But what I love about it is the symbolism.  I always wondered about the trees and the lights and why we used them.  To be able to tie it all together with my beliefs is a great feeling!  I have had some trepidation in decorating with the tree and lights, not knowing if it glorified God at all.

One of my favorite associations to use about Jesus is light.  There is such a list of comparisons that it is astounding to me.  I love the old song that I used to sing in Sunday school as a kid.  I always think of it when I am thinking about Jesus and light.

I am the Light of the world.  You people come and follow Me.  If you follow and love, you’ll learn the mystery, of what you were made to do and be.

Such a wonderful message.  We were made to follow the Light.  That is our only goal.  That is our destiny.  The whole reason that we are on this Earth, is to worship God.

You may have things that you want to do in this life.  But you were MADE for Him.  Our purpose is singing praise to His Holy Name!

Ye are the light of the world.  A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.  Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16

As believers of Jesus, we are to spread the light.  We are to BE the light.  My challenge to you this month is to spread that light far and wide!  Bring as many people as you can out of the darkness and into the light.

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Christmas Trees and Lights

Leave a Reply

